Otto Meyerhof Prize


Boeringer Ingelheim

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma

Awarding Institution
Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie e. V.


GBM relatet fields of biochemistry and molecular biology

Target Group
The prize is awarded to an outstanding young scientist whose doctorate was awarded a maximum of 8 years ago at the time of the application deadline and who is currently conducting research in Germany. In the case of a PhD in medicine, the deadline is a maximum of 9 years.


Application Modalities
Proposal or self-application

5000,- €
The award winners must receive the prizes in person and give a short lecture.

Prize Ceremony
on the occasion of the Mosbach Kolloquia even numbered years

Announcement in issue 4 of Biospektrum in the year before the award ceremony (published in June)


1998 Albert Haas 1999 Gerhild van Echten-Deckert 2000 Thomas Willnow
2001 Ivo Feussner 2002 Matthias Mayer 2003 Andreas Mayer
2004 Christian Ungermann 2005 Peter Rehling 2007 Nils Wiedemann
2009 Andreas Ladurner 2011 Gunter Meister 2013 Martin van der Laan
2015 Birte Höcker 2017 Jan Riemer 2019 Kathrin Lang
2021 Christian Münch 2024 Katharina Höfer